Adairsville Elementary A-Team

Superintendent Page and system leaders present Adairsville Elementary School and its third-grade math collaboration team, which consists of Blaine Bishop, Ashley Greenway, and Jess McMurdo with the most prestigious award given by the District, the A-Team Award!

Blaine Bishop, Ashley Greenway, and Jess McMurdo exemplify the three big ideas of our Professional Learning Communities culture as they continually demonstrate a focus on learning, collaboration, and results.

Through observations and conversations with each team member, it is evident this team uses the PLC process to work together with collective responsibility for student learning. They ensure a guaranteed and viable curriculum for all third-grade math students, use common formative assessments to monitor student learning, use common assessment data to improve teaching and learning practices, and support the RTI process by providing systematic interventions and extensions for all students.

It is also evident that Principal Melissa Zarefoss and the Adairsville Elementary School Guiding Coalition have played a significant role in the development of this A-Team. Its Guiding Coalition was mentioned many times as a source of strength for the PLC process and as the means for the professional development which resulted in the efficacy of this collaborative team.

Congratulations on this extraordinary achievement! Blaine Bishop, Ashley Greenway, and Jess McMurdo will now present at the December school board meeting, New Teacher Institute, and serve as role models for future A-Teams throughout our school system.

This is our seventh collaboration team to earn an A-Team Award. Adairsville Elementary School now has two A-Teams!