AHS crest

Adairsville High School becomes the 13th Bartow County school to be named a Model Professional Learning Community for its sustained success in raising student achievement!

“Honestly, we were shocked at first considering AHS had just received the designation as a Promising Practices School back in October,” said AHS Principal Dr. Lexie Bultman. “Of course, we are elated, as this recognition continues to highlight the phenomenal work being done by our staff and students daily.”

The school’s successful implementation of PLC’s was a major contributing factor in the improved achievement of its students. PLC’s are schools and districts in which educators recognize the key to improved learning for students is on-going, job-embedded learning for the adults who serve those students. The three big ideas of a PLC call upon educators to:

1. Focus on learning.
2. Build a collaborative culture.
3. Create a results orientation.

“Data is a partial, imperfect snapshot of the past,” said Dr. Bultman. “It took us completely re-examining how we told our PLC story through the student achievement data presented. Once we did that, we knew it would not be long before we achieved Model PLC status.”

Schools are recognized based on strict criteria, including demonstration of a commitment to PLC concepts, implementation of these concepts for at least three years, and clear evidence of improved student learning over that period. Once measurable results can be seen, the school must explain its practices, structures, and culture, and then submit its application for consideration by the PLC Review Committee.

“Our primary goal is to continue moving forward in the PLC journey, critically examining ways to maintain and improve our practices as well as foster and support the right work,” added Dr. Bultman. “Currently, the Guiding Coalition is discussing avenues to enhance our intervention block, which we call Tiger Time, to better support students. We are also moving forward with promoting more collaborative teams to apply for A-Team status.”

AHS, Allatoona Elementary School, Kingston Elementary School, Mission Road Elementary School, Adairsville Elementary School, Euharlee Elementary School, Clear Creek Elementary School, Pine Log Elementary School, Emerson Elementary School, Cass Middle School, Adairsville Middle School, Cloverleaf Elementary School, and White Elementary School now join the Bartow County School System as they celebrate Model PLC School and Model PLC District status.